Installment 5 – The Reader

Posted: February 28, 2012 in The Reader
This is the fourth installment of a story that will unravel slowly, week by week. Check back to find out what happens as the tale unfolds. Updates will be posted on Twitter and Facebook.

The lights had finally succumbed to the storm and she reached clumsily for the flashlight to turn it on. Emma pointed it toward the chair, near the far corner. Sure enough, Ethan was sitting there.

“Thank God you’re back Ethan, but you shouldn’t scare me like that. You could have let me know you were here,” she said.

Ethan smiled. “I’m sorry honey, but you know I love to watch you sleep. It’s like looking at a work of art.”

Emma blushed. After all these years he could still make her do so.

“I love you, even if you don’t say things like that to me.” This time she smiled. Another round of lighting and thunder interrupted them.

He stayed calmly sitting in the chair. “Did you think I would abandon you during a storm?”

“Ethan, are you speaking of the storm outside or the one within me?” she asked.

He came over slowly to her and caressed her hair. “Emma, only you can answer that.”

Ethan bent down and very gently kissed her on the forehead. “Why is it, we only get to talk to each other when you’re holding that book in your hand?”

The house phone rang out, waking up Emma from a deep sleep …

Comments are closed.